How Contacts Join Your Group(s)

Your contacts can join your Everyone group or a specific group(s) on your Contacts page from their own device. 

How to join the Everyone group:

  1. Text the word JOIN to your account's toll-free number. 
    1. Contacts added to your Everyone will receive an automated reply:
      "You have signed up and will now receive text alerts from [Company Name]." 
    2. To change the automated reply, you can enable a Customized Join Reply.

Note: The contact’s phone number will appear in the Everyone group with the note "Opted in via JOIN to [your toll-free number]". 


How to join a specific contact group:

Option 1

  1. Text the word JOIN and the group name to your account's toll-free number. (Example: JOIN STAFF)

Option 2

  1. Text the word JOIN and the group keyword to your account's toll-free number. 
    1. The contact will receive a text confirming that they’ve been put into your group. 

Note: The contact’s phone number will appear in BOTH the Everyone list and the custom group with the note "Opted in via JOIN to [your toll-free number]".   

Other things to note:

  • If a contact attempts to join a specific group and spells the group name incorrectly:
    • Their phone number will appear in your Everyone group only.
    • They will receive an automated text reply reading:
      • "We couldn't find a group named "STAFF", but you are now signed up for text alerts from this number."
      • Join attempts will not be displayed through the Conversations section of your account unless a conversation already exists with that number. 
  • If you change a group's name, contacts that have already joined that group will NOT be removed.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us